19 March 2019

The final ITT has started!

Good morning from Stage 7 of the Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport; the final stage. The race, organised by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport, ends with a 10km Individual Time Trial in San Benedetto del Tronto. The fight for General Classification is still open; race leader Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and current second-place man Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma) remain separated by 25 seconds, with narrow margins meaning all the podium positions are to be decided.

The first rider, Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb), will start at 13:25. The last rider, the Maglia Azzurra Adam Yates (Mitchelton – Scott), will start at 16:03.

This morning a time trial race for the Juniors category (48 starters) was hosted by the Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport, on the same route as Stage 7. The race was won by the Italian U19 ITT Champion, Andrea Piccolo (Team LVF), bronze medalist at the men juniors ITT at the 2018 World Championship in Innsbruck.

From left to right, Antonio Tiberi (Team Franco Ballerini), Andrea Piccolo (Team LVF) and Gianmarco Garofoli (Team LVF Marche)


San Benedetto del Tronto (13:25 – First Rider Start): Partly Cloudy 13°C. Wind: moderate – 13kmh, N.
San Benedetto del Tronto (16:20 – Last Rider Finish): Cloudy 10°C. Wind: moderate – 13kmh, N.


1 – Adam Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
2 – Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo – Visma) at 25″
3 – Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team) at 35″



  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), general classification leader, sponsored by Gazprom – Adam Yates (Mitchelton – Scott)
  • Maglia Arancione (orange), sprinter classification leader, sponsored by Sportful – Mirco Maestri (Bardiani CSF)
  • Maglia Verde (green), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Enel – Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Pro Team)
  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Open Fiber – Sam Oomen (Team Sunweb)


During the stage no time bonus and the final maximum of 12 points are available for the points classification.


Stage 7 – San Benedetto del Tronto (Individual Time Trial) 10km
Individual time trial of 10,050m, on a route that mainly follows the final circuit of the finishing stages of the late 1990s and recent 2000s, and has been the same since 2015. The start ramp is located in Viale Tamerici (south wharf). From here, riders proceed towards Porto d’Ascoli along the sea. From Piazza Salvo d’Acquisto (intermediate time recording – km 4.4), the route runs a further 750m before heading back towards San Benedetto del Tronto, where the race ends on the traditional home stretch in Viale Buozzi. The last 2.5km are on an almost straight road.

Final kilometres
The last 3km run along wide and mainly straight roads. The route runs along the seafront (upward lane) towards the finish line. 2.5km before the finish, a double bend leads to the straight home stretch (2,500m), on an 8m wide tarmac road.


San Benedetto del Tronto
San Benedetto del Tronto is a city in the Marches, the fifth largest in the region by population after Ancona, Pesaro, Fano and Ascoli Piceno, and includes 23 municipalities.
Also known as Riviera delle Palme, the name as been extended to refer to neighboring localities of the coast and inland, making it one of the main tourist resorts of the Marche. Since 1999 the city has been continuously awarded the Blue Flag with star, the recognition that the FEE (Foundation for Environmental Education) awards to the European coastal resorts for quality of bathing water and services offered.
Since the second edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico, in 1967, San Benedetto del Tronto has been the permanent home of the final stage of what is generally considered the second stage most important cycling race in Italy, after the Giro d’Italia. The Corsa Rosa itself has also visited San Benedetto, in 1953 and 1964.