07 March 2019

2019 Tirreno-Adriatico – the champions vs the ‘walls’

The 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport is set to be a different Race of the Two Seas, thanks to the new course featuring ‘walls’, the traditional punchy climbs of Central Italy. Like last year, the seven-stage race has attracted many great cycling aces on the provisional entry list, announced today. The race, organised by RCS Sport / La Gazzetta dello Sport, runs from 13 to 19 March.


The ‘walls’ will open the potential for a final GC victory to different styles of riders beyond the traditional GC contenders. Unchanged from the previous editions are the two Time Trials, the opening one for Teams and the final one for Individuals, plus there will be two sprint stages.


Now in its 54th edition, the race will see 161 riders on the start line, representing 23 teams. Among them will be many of the world’s best cyclists, including the 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas, Vincenzo Nibali, Tom Dumoulin, Thibaut Pinot, Primoz Roglic, Mikel Landa and Adam Yates.


The list of stage hunters is impressive, starting with Peter Sagan, Greg Van Avermaet, Julian Alaphilippe, Tim Wellens, Tiesj Benoot and Rohan Dennis for the TT, plus the sprinters Elia Viviani, Fernando Gaviria, Giacomo Nizzolo and Nacer Bouhanni – among the many candidates for a stage win.


UCI WORLDTEAMS – 18 (eligible); total of 23 teams each with 7 riders


  • TEAM SKY (GBR) – Thomas, Moscon
  • AG2R LA MONDIALE (FRA) – Denz, Dillier
  • ASTANA PRO TEAM (KAZ) – Fuglsang, Lutsenko
  • BAHRAIN – MERIDA (BRN) – Nibali, Dennis
  • BORA – HANSGROHE (GER) – Sagan, Majka
  • CCC TEAM (POL) – Van Avermaet, Bevin
  • DECEUNINCK – QUICK – STEP (BEL) – Viviani, Alaphilippe
  • EF EDUCATION FIRST (USA) – Vanmarcke, Phinney
  • GROUPAMA – FDJ (FRA) – Pinot, Küng
  • LOTTO SOUDAL (BEL) – Wellens, Benoot
  • MITCHELTON – SCOTT (AUS) – Adam Yates, Durbridge
  • MOVISTAR TEAM (ESP) – Landa, Carapaz
  • TEAM DIMENSION DATA (RSA) – Kreuziger, Nizzolo
  • TEAM JUMBO – VISMA (NED) – Roglic, Tony Martin
  • TEAM KATUSHA ALPECIN (SUI) – Battaglin, Dowsett
  • TEAM SUNWEB (GER) – Dumoulin, Roche
  • TREK – SEGAFREDO (USA) – Brambilla, Stuyven
  • UAE TEAM EMIRATES (UAE) – Gaviria, Rui Costa


UCI Professional Continental Teams 5 wild cards


  • BARDIANI CSF (ITA) – Barbin, Maestri
  • GAZPROM – RUSVELO (RUS) – Kuriyanov, Arslanov
  • ISRAEL CYCLING ACADEMY (ISR) – Hermans, Neilands