10 March 2017


Peter Sagan outsprinted Elia Viviani to claim victory at Montalto di Castro after overcoming illness. Rohan Dennis became the third rider from BMC Racing Team to lead Tirreno-Adriatico in three days as he took over from Greg Van Avermaet at the addition of the placings.



1 – Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) – 204 km in 4h51’59”, media 41,920 km/h

2 – Elia Viviani (Team Sky) s.t.

3 – Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal) s.t.



1 – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team)

2 – Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) s.t

3 – Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing Team) s.t.




The stage winner Peter Sagan said: “The sprint went well for me today. I remembered last year’s equivalent stage. I was at the front too early and I learned that it was better to sprint from behind. Thanks to the cross winds, there wasn’t anyone on [Elia] Viviani’s wheel so I took it. He rode the way I did last year. 250 metres of a slightly hilly finish, it’s a bit long. I’m happy to win a stage here. Last year I didn’t but I won the Tour of Flanders after that. The feeling is important. It’s not all about victory or finishing second or third.”


The new Maglia Azzurra, Rohan Dennis said: “I’m not sure how the crash happened. I was just behind it and I saw many riders putting their brakes on. I managed to pass guys who were on the ground and that’s why I have the leader’s jersey instead of Greg. It’s the bad side of cycling. Coming here is more about using Tirreno-Adriatico as a stepping stone towards the Giro and getting used to the roads that are our challenges in May. Tejay [van Garderen] is our main leader, I’m the reserve.”



Rohan Dennis is the first Australian to take the leader’s jersey at Tirreno-Adriatico since Matt Goss who led the race from stage 1 to stage 3 in 2012. The first Australian leader was Phil Anderson on 11 March 1988 at Bacoli.

Sixth stage victory for Peter Sagan at Tirreno-Adriatico.

For the first time the Belgian Jurgen Roelandts, aged 31, makes the podium of a stage at Tirreno-Adriatico.