15 December 2016


Edition 52 of the Tirreno-Adriatico, the race organised by RCS Sport / La Gazzetta dello Sport, running from 8 to 14 March 2017, was presented today in Camaiore. The route, in line with last year’s, features two TT stages, one for teams and one for individuals, two sprint stages, two for finisseurs and a mountain stage with the finish on the Terminillo, where, in 2015, Nairo Quintana won a spectacular stage in the snow, putting the seal on the final triumph in the Corsa dei Due Mari.


The race starts with the Team Time Trial in Lido di Camaiore, a flat and fast stage with just four bends (won in the last edition by the BMC Racing Team); the following day is a mixed course from Camaiore to Pomarance with four climbs along the route. The last climb is particularly suitable for the finisseurs: in 2016 Zdenek Stybar was first to this finish line ahead of the World Champion Peter Sagan and Edvald Boasson Hagen. The third stage starts from Monterotondo Marittimo: its very fast first part featuring some intermediate ascents that should not detract from the final sprint in Montalto di Castro. The talented Colombian sprinter, Fernando Gaviria, was first to this finish line only nine months ago.
On Saturday 11 March the Queen stage starts from Montalto di Castro: it features two intermediate GPMs and the final climb of Terminillo (16km with an average gradient of 7.3% and maximum of 12%).
The next day is the “Muri Stage” from Rieti to Fermo which initially runs along the Salaria, crossing the areas devastated by two earthquakes in August and October. In the Fermo area, a circuit will present some challenging short and steep climbs – known as ‘muri’ (walls) – before reaching the finish line in the center of Fermo.
On the 13th, the Ascoli Piceno-Civitanova Marche is a flat stage suitable for the fastest wheels of the bunch, with a final straight of more than a kilometer on the Civitanova Marche seafront. The race will finish with the classic Individual Time Trial of 10.1km in San Benedetto del Tronto.


Camaiore and its Lido will also be the start of the Corsa dei Due Mari for the 2018-2020 triennium. The agreement was announced by Francesco Santini, Responsible for the Management of Relations with Sports Bodies of the City of Camaiore, and Mauro Vegni, RCS Sport Cycling Director.
The presentation was attended by representatives of the institutions, stage committees, sponsors and media, together with Paolo Bettini, former World and Olympic Champion and Daniele Bennati (Movistar Team) former stage winner and leader’s jersey holder (in Monsummano Terme in 2010) who, in 2017, will race the Corsa dei Due Mari for the 12th time.