08 March 2017


BMC Racing Team won at a record-breaking 58.329kph. Damiano Caruso wears blue; Tejay van Garderen takes first advantage in the GC.
BMC Racing Team won stage 1 of the 52nd Tirreno-Adriatico NamedSport, repeating last year’s victory with a record breaking speed of 58.329kph. First across the line, Damiano Caruso took the leader’s jersey, the Maglia Azzurra NamedSport. Among the General Classification favourites, BMC Racing Team’s Tejay van Garderen takes time advantage over Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) and Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team), who finished third and fourth with their respective teams, limiting their losses.

1 – BMC Racing Team 22.7km in 23’21”, average speed 58.329kph
2 – Quick-Step Floors at 16″
3 – Movistar Team at 21″

1 – Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing Team)
2 – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) s.t.
3 – Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) s.t.


The first Maglia Azzurra, Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing Team) said: “I believe I’m in a great shape. I worked a lot in December to be able to help Richie Porte at the Tour Down Under so I’m here in a better shape than in the previous years. This victory makes me happy and it makes my dad even happier than me! He doesn’t often visit me at the races but he was here today. He’s my number one fan. He’ll remember this day forever. Me too. I’m looking forward to seeing the advantage I can take from leading the race in the coming days. We’re here with two leaders, Greg Van Avermaet for the stage wins and Tejay van Garderen for the overall. Maybe at the Terminillo, if the circumstances are favourable, I’ll be in the wheels and defend this jersey without changing the team’s plans. But first, there will be an interesting stage tomorrow, it’s a long one with a nervous finale. Greg is a top champion; he deserves everybody’s help, mine included. We’ll maintain our plan to try and get him the win in Pomarance.”

Record average speed in the history of Tirreno-Adriatico: 58.329kph. The first five teams bettered the previous record held by BMC Racing Team on the same course one year ago.

Same podium as last year with BMC Racing Team, Quick-Step Floors and FDJ repeating positions 1, 2, and 3. Also like last year, BMC Racing Team puts an Italian in the lead: Damiano Caruso in 2017 after Daniel Oss in 2016.

For the first time in his career, Damiano Caruso leads a stage race.